October 22, 2012

I love saving money. Who doesn’t? I also love living in Chicago, but sometimes city living can be expensive. I grew up in a town where there wasn’t much to do, which is one of the reasons why I came to DePaul because I knew I’d never get bored. DePaul is located in a city with so many fun places to visit, but Bears tickets, a Field Museum visit, a Broadway in Chicago show, and a trip to Michigan Avenue can break the bank.

Demon Tix to the rescue! Did you know our office has discounted tickets for attractions in Chicago? Look for the poster on our door and around campus as well as the webpage to see what we have for the quarter. This quarter we had Joffrey Ballet tickets for The Nutcracker, Chicago Fire tickets, and Skydeck tickets if you want to see the city from the Willis Tower (but I still call it the Sears Tower). The great part about Demon Tix is that you can buy 2! If you have a friend or family member visiting the city you can bring them along!

During Winter Quarter we had planetarium tickets which you could use at your leisure. I had never been there before and wanted to check it out. I ended up staying in the city for spring break and had a “staycation.” Luckily, it turned out to be really nice that week so I didn’t mind staying here. My friend Katie was in the city that week and had bought a planetarium ticket so we went together. Needless to say, it was out of this world (corny pun intended). The museum campus area is such a great view of the skyline day or night too.

If you’re going to be around over December break, OSI is having a “Winter Break Special”! Six weeks away from classes can make life a little boring, so we will be selling tickets to Dr. Suess’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas! Tickets are only $15 and the show date is December 15. If this is one of your favorite Dr. Suess stories (or Christmas story), keep a watchful eye on our Facebook page or Twitter to find out when tickets will go on sale!

The Demon Tix have been selling out fairly quickly so don’t delay in buying yours next quarter. We are completely out of all of our tickets this quarter. Every quarter we have different events, but we always have movie passes! We sell AMC passes for $6 and Regal Cinema passes for $6.50. This is a deal because it’s normally $11 to see a movie in the city. I was floored by how “expensive” this was when I first moved here. I was used to paying $6 at my little Lincoln Theater so now I can pay the same. 🙂

If you bought all 3 Demon Tix this quarter you would have saved $75.50! Definitely take advantage of these great deals because you won’t be able to once you graduate!

One thought on “October 22, 2012

  1. Pingback: November 6, 2012 |

Leave a Reply

