November 13, 2012

Congrats are in order to 2 of our organizations! We have been notified that DePaul Debate Team and Honors Student Government have placed in competitions they entered!

On October 19-20 DePaul students Tom Bostwick, Sam Richards, Drew Jonsen, Chloe Maier, Ryan Aleman, Michael Rance, Charles Bily, Michael Dennies, Eric Kvam, Mario Mendoza, Neil Maude, Jimmy Wollwert, Phy Tran, and Dan Carmona competed in pairs in the  American Parliamentary Debate Association Tournament held at the University of Chicago. Each pair that participated won at least one round of debate with one Team (Eric Kvam and Neil Maude) winning three rounds of debate. These rounds included victories against University of Chicago, University of California Berkeley, Odette University, and Harold Washington College.

Honorable Mentions, the Honors Program quarterly newsletter, recently won first place in the National Collegiate Honors Council Annual (NCHC) Newsletter Contest in the Student Published-Electronic category. The National Collegiate Honors Council (NCHC) is the professional association of undergraduate honors programs and colleges, honors directors and deans, and honors faculty, staff and students. NCHC is a national organization with over 800 affiliated honors programs and honors colleges from across the country. Co-editors Alex Jewell and Lisa Plachy did a great job!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s