January 21, 2013

Post 19 Picture

Today’s staff spotlight is with Martise Cooks. Martise is the Program Coordinator for Student Organizations and oversees student organization development Student Organization Registration, SOLVE Workshops and the Spring OrgConnect Conference.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up on the westside of Chicago in an area called “The Island” since it is the last bit of Chicago surrounded by Oak Park, Berwyn, Cicero and the 290 expressway.
 
Where did you go for undergrad & grad school?
I am a proud Double Demon. My undergraduate degree was in Art History & Design LAS ‘06 and graduate degree in Counseling & College Student Development SOE ’10.
What were you involved with while in school?
I was heavily involved during my time as a student here at DePaul-

  • Delta Kappa Epsilon International Fraternity
  • Residence Hall Council (RHC)
  • DePaul Ambassadors
  • DePaul Activities Board
  • Orientation Leader
  • Chicago Quarter Mentor
  • University Ministry
  • Vincentian Heritage Tour

How long have you been working at OSI?
I have been working in OSI for 9 months

What do you like best about working in Student Involvement?
I love that I can be part of the process for helping students enhance their college experience through their involvement with student organizations. I love having the opportunity to watch student leaders develop psycho-social skills and transition to socially responsible individuals and take what they learned through involvement with a student organization and apply it to life experiences.

If you didn’t live in Chicago, where would you want to live?
Wow I have a long list – here are my top 3 destinations – Los Angeles, New York and New Orleans

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
This has changed soo much for me. There was a point in time I wanted to be an Obstetrician like Bill Cosby from “The Cosby Show,” then there was a long period of time I wanted to be in a Boy Band. That’s right I am proud to proclaim it, I wanted to either be a member of N’Sync or Coldplay – Is it bad that part of me still has this dream?

What movie are you hoping wins “Best Picture” at the Oscars next month?
This is a tough one as I am happy with the nominees this year, my choices would be one of these 3: Argo, Django Unchained  or Lincoln but I know the Les Miserable will win.

What’s your favorite band/musical artist?
Haha – Sorry I have a list for this as well – Maroon 5, Coldplay, Bruno Mars, Justin Timberlake, and the incomparable voice of all time may she rest in peace, Whitney Houston.

If a movie was being made about your life, which actor would you choose to play you?
Well I have thought long and hard about this, but I would say perhaps Wayne Brady as I have at times been compared to him, he does a great job at making people laugh and I think that signifies what best describes me- laughter.

Leave a Reply

