Staff Spotlight: Ashlee Canty

Ashlee
Today’s staff spotlight is with Ashlee Canty. Ashlee is the Program Coordinator for Fraternity & Sorority Life and Advises Interfraternity Council, Multicultural Greek Council, and Panhellenic Council as well as providing Leadership Training for Fraternity and Sorority Leadership.

 
Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Winston Salem, North Carolina.

Where did you attend undergrad and grad school?
I went to undergrad at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC (Go Wolfpack) and received my BS degree in Biological Sciences. I received my master’s degree in College Student Personnel at Western Illinois University.

What you you involved with in college?
In college I was really involved with my Sorority, Zeta Phi Beta as well as the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC). I also interned as a medical clinic assisting people without insurance in obtaining medical prescriptions.

How long have you been working at DePaul?
I have been working at DePaul since August of 2011.

Why did you choose to work in Student Affairs?
At NC State I had an amazing experience as a Student Leader through my involvement with my chapter and as a council leader. At first I had decided to attempt to go to Pharmacy school but after several challenges from my own Fraternity/Sorority Advisors who suggested that I look into higher education because of my passion for my sorority and community. I had an amazing experience through my involvement in Fraternity/Sorority Life at NC State and I hope to be able to provide that for the Fraternity and Sorority Leader’s at DePaul.

What is your favorite & least favorite thing about Chicago?
My favorite thing about Chicago is the summer and all of the festivals and cultural events that are here in the city. My least favorite is the Winter weather.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what 3 things would you want with you?
My iPad, My watch, and some nice running shoes!

I will never get sick of eating: pizza

What is your favorite book?
I really loved The Girl that Played with Fire.
 

What was your favorite vacation?
Going to Puerto Rico with my mom and sister! But it might be my upcoming vacation in March to Paris, London, Barcelona, and Amsterdam!

One thought on “Staff Spotlight: Ashlee Canty

Leave a Reply

