Keep Calm and Study On

Post 32 Picture

It’s hard to believe that the end of the quarter is upon us which means another set of finals is right around the corner. In this stressful time it’s important to take a few minutes to de-stress. Though it may not feel as if there’s any time for ourselves, even just a few minutes away from reading, making flash cards, or writing that paper can help.

Everyone has their own ways of de-stressing but here are some recommendations ways to keep yourself calm.

1. Get a stress ball.

I sometimes forget I have one, but I keep it at my desk to release some tension. Because studying mostly involves sitting in a chair, I try to stand up and stretch my legs every so often as well. If you’re working on a computer, remember to look away from the screen at least once for every hour working.

2. Listen to some calming music.

Or upbeat music, or just your favorite song in general. Right now, Claude Debussy’s Prelude to ‘Afternoon of a Faun’ is my favorite de-stressing song. The first time I heard it I could literally feel the stress and anxiety melt off. I know it sounds a little weird, but I was in such a better mood when the song ended. Plus, this Fantasia-like sequence that goes along with it is pretty cool.

3. Exercise!

I know it may not feel as if you have time, but exercise releases those feel-good endorphins. Plus the Ray is open 5:30 am – 11:30 pm so it doesn’t matter if you’re an early bird or night owl!

4. Laugh.

Whether it’s an episode of your favorite comedy show on Netflix, a youtube video of your favorite stand-up comedian, or browsing BuzzFeed (Have you seen 37 People Who Are Worse At Cooking Than You? It’s hilarious), laughter truly is the best medicine. Those feel-good endorphins are released again and who doesn’t like those?

Best of luck! Lastly, here is a video about finals week.

Leave a Reply

