Staff Spotlight: Kevin O’Brien

MTSKevinToday’s staff spotlight is with Kevin O’Brien. Kevin is the Loop Campus Office Manager for the Office of Student Involvement. As a two time Blue Demon, he shares a little bit about himself including his coffee addiction and why he loves working in our office! 

Where did you grow up?

This is kind of a hard question for me. I sort of grew up all over. I was born in Port Angeles, Washington and then spent 11 years in Vancouver, Washington. After that, I moved to Lake Zurich, IL and then Grand Blanc, MI.

Where did you attend undergrad?

DePaul University. #gobluedemons

What were you involved with in college?

What wasn’t I involved with in college is a better question. I was on the executive board of the DePaul Activities Board, worked as the Marketing Coordinator for Welcome Week, and was the Creative Planner for the Office of Student Involvement.

How long have you been working at DePaul?

I have been with OSI for 2 years as a staff professional and was a student worker for 3 years.

What is your favorite thing about working in OSI?

The students. I often tell my student workers they are the reason I come to work and the reason it’s so hard to leave. There is a great sense of community in our loop office that brings together the most unlikely group of students and it just seems to work. We have the best time together and I couldn’t ask for a better work environment.  I also really love my coworkers. They are the best support system and I have grown a lot professionally because of them.

What is your favorite and least favorite thing about Chicago?

Favorite: I love all the great places to eat. I spend a lot of time in Logan Square and the West Loop just eating. It’s great.

Least favorite: The winters. Let’s be real, no one looks cute in those sleeping bag coats and bean boots. Can’t it just be summer, forever?

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things would you want with you?

My collection of GQ from the past 9 years (haven’t missed an issue). A large supply of coffee. Sunscreen, lots and lots of screen (I am pretty pale).

You will never get sick of eating…

Coffee. Does that count? Let’s just say it does. I drink about 8 shots of espresso a day. It’s a real problem.

What is your favorite book?

Catcher in the Rye

What was your favorite vacation?

We used to go to Cannon Beach, Oregon every summer as a kid and I remember that being one of my fondest memories as a child. I mean, there is nothing better than building sand castles, playing in the tide pools, and eating copious amounts of clam chowder from Mo’s. Nothing will ever compare in my adult life to those days.

 

Leave a Reply

