Meet the Staff: Kristin Hagen

MeettheStaffKristin

Today’s Meet the Staff is featuring Kristin Hagen who is our new Coordinator for Educational Programs and Communications. Here she tells us about herself as well as why working at OSI is her favorite! Let’s extend a warm welcome to Kristin!

Where did you grow up? I grew up in good ole Grayslake, Illinois. It’s a suburb about an hour north of the city (really close to the Wisconsin border)

Where did you attend undergrad? I went to a few different schools (I’m a proud transfer student). I went to Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin my first year, the College of Lake County in Grayslake, Illinois my second year, and then I finished my degree at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Illinois.

What were you involved with in college? When I was in college, I was a Transfer Student Peer Mentor and Career Services Intern. I was also involved several clubs like PRSSA and Alpha Phi Omega for a short time.

How long have you been working at DePaul? I’ve been in my current position for about 2 ½ months. However, I’ve worked at DePaul for the last two years as a Graduate Assistant for the Office of New Student and Family Engagement.

What is your favorite thing about working in OSI? The people. We have such a fun group of people that truly make every day great. From Professional Staff to Student Staff, everyone is incredibly welcoming and helpful. My Marketing Team (Nicole, Teresa and Jorge) are top-notch. They’re great to work with!

What is your favorite and least favorite thing about Chicago? I love almost everything about Chicago. The buildings, the people, even the CTA. I love walking out my door and there is something fun and interesting around every corner. My least favorite thing about the city is that every apartment I’ve lived in has a NO DOG POLICY! I’ve always wanted my own dog, and so I’m on the hunt for an apartment that will allow them.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things would you want with you? 1). Iced Tea because I love it, and it’s my go-to beverage when I’m stressed out. 2). My roommates – they’re my favorite people and I’d want them with me for sure! 3). A crockpot – I love cooking in my crockpot so maybe I could make it work on a desert island.

You will never get sick of eating… Kale Chips! I just discovered these and they are so good. My roommates and I make them almost every day. Plus they’re pretty healthy for you so that’s an added bonus.

What is your favorite book? I read The Outsiders in 7th grade and it has been my favorite book ever since. The movie is one of my favorites as well. How could you go wrong with an all-star cast . . .  Tom Cruise, Ralph Macchio, Patrick Swayze, Matt Dillon!

What was your favorite vacation? I went to Iceland a few years ago and it was by far the best vacation I’ve been on. If you’ve never traveled to Iceland I highly recommend it. The air is so crisp, the food is so fresh, and the people are by far the nicest I’ve ever met.

Most people wouldn’t know that you… I come from a family of runners. All my siblings were in track or cross country. My brother Jeff long jump and triple jump champ! Several of them have run marathons now, but I HATE running. No, thank you. I even tried being in track in high school and college, but it just wasn’t for me. I just liked the uniforms, but the actual running part was boring.

Leave a Reply

