Meet the Staff: Winnie Dortch

ImageThis week’s Meet the Staff is with Winnie Dortch! She joined the OSI team in September as the Office Assistant in our Loop Office. She shares with us today a few fun facts about herself including her love for tacos. We are so happy to welcome Winnie on board! 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up on the Westside of Chicago, IL

Where did you attend undergrad?

I went to Hampton University for my undergrad. My major was broadcast journalism (area of emphasis in English

 What were you involved with in college? 

I was a member of Swing Phi Swing Social Fellowship Incorporated….I was an Honors College Member…….I was a resident assistant (RA) for three years undergrad.

How long have you been working at DePaul?

I have been working at DePaul since September 11, 2013.

What is your favorite thing about working in OSI?

I have love several things about working in OSI……..The environment is quiet and loving…… My favorite co-worker is Brent Turner….He puts a smile on my face with his jokes and his dance moves. Everyone makes me feel comfortable and helps me as well. Working here also keeps me updated on all Student Activities so I can’t miss a thing

What is your favorite and least favorite thing about Chicago?

I love Chicago because it has so much to offer, especially since I am a communications major. It is a big city and a great place to network. My least favorite thing about Chicago is the violence has been at an all-time high for past few years.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things would you want with you?

If I was stranded on an Island….I would want a Bible, Radio, and Blanket

You will never get sick of eating…

I WOULD NEVER GET SICK OF EATING TACOS…………………I LOVE THEM! 🙂

What is your favorite book?

My favorite book is Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

What was your favorite vacation?

My favorite vacation was to Atlanta years ago. The weather was beautiful and the atmosphere was fun and memorable. They have the best social clubs.

Most people wouldn’t know that you…

Most people wouldn’t know that even though I am 23…I still sleep with teddy bears and my night light…. You never know what’s in the dark 🙂

Leave a Reply

