What College Really Is. By: Cali Parisi

College is something that is both scary and exciting at the same time.

When I was a senior in high school, I couldn’t wait to start college and just end high school already.  Now that I am here, it has hit me like a brick wall.  With freedom comes much more responsibility.  I did cherish high school as much as I could, but there were some days that just seemed to last forever.  I always thought that college would be so much fun and carefree.  I was mistaken, even though it is fun and carefree some of the time.  I never realized how hard my classes would be even though I only have four a quarter.  Living in a dorm is also so much fun, but it is hard to find alone time… when it is wanted.  Even if I just want to talk on the phone with a friend, it is difficult to find a quiet spot that I can do so.

Being away from my family can also be difficult.  I am very close with my family, so I love being around them.  Luckily I do live close enough where I can go home often.

 I also love going home because of those desired home cooked meals.  I always tell my friends that are still in high school to appreciate their parents and their dinners that they cook.

place_setting_with_dinner_plate_fork_and_spoon_0515-1011-1202-2357_SMU

I wish I had a good home cooked meal every night!  Don’t get me wrong, I do love college.  It can be a struggle at times, but it is worth it.  I can’t wait until I receive my degree and begin my professional life as an elementary school teacher.  I am so grateful for all of the opportunities that I have been given to attend such a great university.  I wouldn’t change anything even if I could.

Guest Blogger: Cali Parisi, OSI EDGE team member studying Elementary Education at DePaul University. Cali’s favorite movie is Safe Haven; “I think love stories are so great and this one has many twists and turns but eventually works out in the end, which is so amazing.”

Leave a Reply

