How Can We Become an Effective Leader?

By: OSI Blogger Jacki Licciardi

As a graduate student at DePaul, becoming an effective leader is one of my top priorities. At DePaul they strive to instill Socially Responsible Leadership as a framework for students to develop as such. The five dimensions are as follows:

  1. Self Understanding and Personal Integrity
  2. Taking Seriously the Perspective of Others
  3. Contributing to a Larger Community
  4. Knowledge and Intellectual Competence
  5. Striving for Excellence

*http://studentaffairs.depaul.edu/sli/srl.html

'Leadereship' highlighted in green

Reflecting on these had me thinking… how can each of us become a leader in today’s society that represents these characteristics? Well I thought this was a great question, so I will share my thoughts. As a counselor in training, it is important for me to bring out the best in people. This reminded me of a book written by Alan Loy McGinnis “Bringing Out the Best in People.”

These 12 rules for bringing out the best in people had a powerful impact on how I viewed my relationships and interactions with the people in my life. I am a firm believer that no matter what your age you can always learn and improve from the people around you- no matter what the age difference is.

I swear I have learned some of the most powerful ways of being from my 6 year old nephew.

So… I share these 12 rules for Bringing Out the Best in People hoping that these can help you become a socially responsible leader while bringing out the best in others.

  1. Expect the best from the people you lead.
  2. Make a thorough study of the other person’s needs.
  3. Establish high standards for excellence.
  4. Create an environment where failure is not fatal.
  5. If they are going anywhere near where you want to go, climb on other peoples bandwagons.
  6. Employ models to encourage success.
  7. Recognize and applaud achievement.
  8. Employ a mixture of positive and negative reinforcement.
  9. Appeal ‘sparingly’ to the competitive urge.
  10. Place a premium on collaboration.
  11. Build into the group an allowance for storms.
  12. Take steps to keep your own motivation high.

I would suggest taking some time to reflect on how these 12 steps could be worked into your daily schedules both personally and professionally. I would *also* suggest thinking about the last time someone did any of the above steps to you and how that made you feel.

For example, how great does it feel when someone recognizes and applauds your achievements without you asking? It feels pretty great!

leadership-development1

What are you waiting for? Go be a positive leader who brings out the best in people!

… Jacki Licciardi is currently working in the Office of Student Involvement as the Program Assistant for Social Media and Leadership Development. Jacki is also a current graduate student at DePaul studying College Student Development.

Leave a Reply

