Why Should You Get Involved at DePaul?

By Guest Blogger: Erin McGrath

I can’t believe how fast time flew and that it is already my second quarter here at DePaul! I can already remember how vulnerable I felt at the beginning of the year. I remember beginning my year here at DePaul thinking about how I would be on my own and where I would reside here at DePaul. At first it was a hard transition being in such a big city and some may say that it’s harder here at a city school than at a state school to make friends, in my opinion I think this statement is true. However, when I found out that DePaul has two Involvement fairs that showcase the many opportunities to get involved with over 350 clubs and student organizations that has all changed for me.

Being a freshman most of us take a seminar to acclimate ourselves into the city while also learning about DePaul, and one of our requirements is to attend the Involvement Fair that is offered here twice during the academic year. Many of us thought “Ugh this is such a tedious assignment” but after I attended the Involvement Fair, I was so happy that we had to attend it because if I wasn’t involved here at DePaul I think I would have way too much time on my hands than I should have.

As I walked through the Involvement Fair, I could not believe how much DePaul had to offer which was great because we are such a diverse student body. Speaking for myself, I am one who can have a strong sense of anxiety if I am involved in too much given my other commitments such as homework, so I decided that I would join one or two clubs at most.

After consideration I decided to rush and be an active member of Delta Gamma Fraternity. I never thought of myself as a sorority girl because I would always think of them as like the girls in all the basic college movies, but after rush week and learning about them it was much more than that. Now that I am a part of Delta Gamma I could not be any happier for a number of reasons. Not only did I gain a group of sisters whom I’ve grown to love over the last few months but I also get to serve my community or more importantly our Philanthropy “Service for Sight”. This philanthropy means a lot to me because I had lost a friend during my junior year of high school, and his family decided to have his eyes donated to someone in need. Which is exactly what Delta Gamma does, we try to get as many people as we can to become donors so they can donate their organs especially their eyes. In addition to serving our community, I also have so many girls around me who support the Vincentian way, course work, and to have a never-ending bond of sisterhood. Even at the start of my experience with Delta Gamma I was a timid person, but throughout these few months I have become so comfortable with the other woman and the organization that I have applied to become Vice President of New Member Education.

A sorority may not be one’s thing or maybe it is, but if not being involved on campus can mean so much more. You may be thinking that I can’t have a never-ending bond in a group that isn’t a sorority but I don’t think that’s true. I think in any group such as intramural volleyball, Quittach Club, or Chess club you can create something special. Yes… it may sound cheesy but its true. For each of these organizations you may meet up to two times a week and than have something on the weekends, so you’re basically spending a lot of time with these people. Which is why some of these people may become some of your best friends or maybe even your worst nightmares. But even so it can be a great experience, which everyone should experience.

If your pondering the idea or maybe your shy and don’t feel like you can join an organization, I suggest getting out of your comfort zone and trying something new. I myself was very timid with all the organizations here on campus because I started to make excuses for myself like, “Will I be good enough?” or “Will I have enough time for it all?” and truly you will have time for it and it will make your college experience all that better. Now that I have created such a connection with my sisters and even have created networking through it, I don’t regret it at all.

Which is why I would tell everyone who attends DePaul to join at least one or two organizations and to not be afraid. I know for myself after seeing the connections I have made I want to join more organizations here on campus.

Learn more about Delta Gamma Fraternity on the official site: http://depaul.deltagamma.org/

Leave a Reply

